website stats
Saint Petersburg (Санкт-Петербу́рг) is a city and a
federal subject located in Northwestern Federal District
of Russia on the delta of the Neva River at the east end
of the Gulf of Finland on the Baltic Sea.

It is informally known as Piter (Питер) and was formerly
known as Petrograd (Петрогра́д, 1914–1924) and
Leningrad (Ленингра́д, 1924–1991)

Founded by Tsar Peter the Great on May 27, 1703 as a
"window to Europe," it served as the capital of the
Russian Empire for more than two hundred years (1712-
1728 and from 1732-1918). St. Petersburg ceased being
the capital in 1918 when the government moved to
Moscow after the Russian Revolution of 1917.

With about 4.8 million inhabitants in its metropolitan
area, Saint Petersburg is Russia's second-largest and one
of largest cities in Europe, a major European cultural
center, and the second most important Russian port on
the Baltic Sea.